You are here

2x3

facebook
twitter

2x3

2 X 3 (X 4) is a new exhibition format in public space. 4 times a year the 2 by 3 meter space on the façade of Gutleutstrasse 8–12 is to be made use of by designers and illustrators. The classical poster-space medium will be reinterpreted and offer room for experimentation.

Tobias Freidberg and Paale Lüdcke are building the designstudio Aoki & Matsumoto which is based in Frankfurt.

After spending the last four years in Amsterdam and The Hague, Sebastian Pataki or Mr. Pataki has just returned to his hometown of Frankfurt am Main. The self-described bricoleur is mostly on the lookout for ways, of blurring the boundaries of the graphic design genre even more. He firmly believes a creative approach works across different media, and may lead – due to what might seem to us as dilettantism – to unexpected results. Next to the bricolage of (pop-cultural) myths, texts and images, experimentation and systems thinking are two other main pillars of his creative work.

Timo Lenzen, a graphic designer born in Frankfurt am Main, was the first to use the space. He is active in both the pure and applied arts. Typically he explores the implementation of a wide range of media and their possible combinations, from classical poster design, 3D animation and the building of constructive spaces, back to the flatness of paper.

the project is curated by Adrian Nießler and Catrin Altenbrandt (www.pixelgarten.de)

Sie sind hier

2x3

facebook
twitter

2x3

2 X 3 (X 4) ist ein neues ausstellungsformat im öffentlichen raum. 4 mal im jahr wird die 2 mal 3 meter große fläche an der außenfassade der gutleutstrasse 8–12 von designern und illustratoren neu gestaltet. das klassische medium plakatfläche wird neu interpretiert und bietet raum zum experimentieren.

Tobias Friedberg und Paale Lüdcke bilden zusammmen das Grafikdesignstudio Aoki & Matsumoto, das seit 2011 in Frankfurt besteht.

Sebastian Pataki oder auch Mr. Pataki ist nach einem vierjährigen Aufenthalt in Amsterdam und Den Haag nach Frankfurt am Main zurückgekehrt. Der sich selbst als Bricoleur beschreibende Gestalter, arbeitet vornehmlich im Bereich des Grafikdesign, wobei er oft versucht – im Glauben an einen medienübergreifenden gestalterischen Ansatz, der zudem aus dem vermeintlichen Dilettantismus heraus unerwartete Ergebnisse liefern kann – die ohnehin unklaren Grenzen des Genres, noch weiter zu dehnen und zu verwischen. Neben der Bricolage von (popkulturellen) Mythen, Text und Bild, stellen Experiment und Systemdenken zwei wichtige Pole in seinem gestalterischen Wirken dar.

 

den anfang machte der in frankfurt am main geborene grafikdesigner timo lenzen. er arbeitet sowohl angewandt als auch frei. dabei beschäftigt er sich mit der ausformung verschiedenster medien und deren kombinationsmöglichkeiten. von klassischer plakatgestaltung bis zur 3d animation über das bauen konstruktiver räume und zurück zur flachheit des papiers.

das projekt wird kuratiert von adrian nießler und catrin altenbrandt (www.pixelgarten.de)